Hindustan Motors
Home Search Contact us Save Print
Bosch K1000 Rally - Mitsubishi Cedia wins the 3rd round of INRC 2007

Bangalore | August 19, 2007

Mitsubishi Cedia proves its dominance in INRC 2007 by finishing overall first and second places in the grand finale of the Bosch K 1000 Rally in New Yelahanka Town, Bangalore on Sunday.

By doing so Mitsubishi has proved its mettle once again in the INRC by completing a full round of victories from the first time it participated in the INRC circuit in Bangalore last year around.
Mitsubishi Vehciles are know for its complete built quality and high powered performance making it the favourite among rally champions and enthusiasts all over the world.

In the circuit concluded in Bangalore on Sunday, 19th August 2007, Team MRF's Gauravsingh Gill swept through the twists and curves of the super special stage with ease to finish the three loops in 3.38 mins, adding nine seconds to his overnight lead over second placed Vikram Mathias.

Gill, thus drove Lancer Cedia to his third overall title in the MAI's INRC, opening up an unassailable lead over the field in his quest for the National title.

Gill and co-driver Moosa Sherif tallied 48 points, while teammate Arjun Rao Aroor (Satish Kumar Rajagopal) remained a distant second with 17points. Another MRF driver, Arjun Balu (Kumar Ramsswamy) was in third place with 13 points. Team Red Rooster's Vikram Mathias (Nikhil Pai) made an impressive return to rallying by finishing second and is now in fourth position with Lohit Urs, both with 12 points.

Gill and Sherif finished the 13 special stages in a timing of 1:11.22, a minute and 10 seconds ahead of Mathias and Pai. (1:12.32). Lohit Urs (Jaidas Menon) finished in third place in 1:18.27, while 1400 cc drivers Amitrajit Ghosh and Shreshta Patil wrapped up a good showing over three days by finishing fourth and fifth overall.

Vikram Mathias, making a return to rallying was also satisfied with the second-placed finish and said, "this round is more like a learning curve for me. We are looking to make a strong statement next year."

Following are the provisional timings:

Overall category: Gauravsingh Gill/Mosa Sherif (Team MRF, 2000cc Mitsubishi Cedia) 1:11.22;
Vikram Mathias/Nikhil Pai (Team Red Rooster, 2000cc Mitsubishi Cedia) 1:12.32;
Lohit Urs/Jaidas Menon (Team MRF, 1600N+ Ford Fiesta) 1:18.27;
Sourabh Chaudhary/Amitrajit Ghosh (1400cc Esteem) 1:21.10;
Sreshta Patil/Ramesh Kumar (1400cc Esteem) 1:23.30.

The BOSCH K1000 Rally - 4th Round of I N R C was held at Sidhulgatta, Kolar District, Karnataka from Aug 17 - Aug 19.

Mitsubishi Motors were the co-sponsors of the event. Apart being the co-sponsors, Mitsubishi Motors offered 2 Safety cars, i.e. The Pajero & Cedia. These cars check the efficacy of the track first and once the green signal is given by the drivers then does the actual rally start.

The rally at Sidhulgatta had 3 stages to it and the entire stretch was colorful with Mitsubishi's branding all over which gives a sense of how supportive the Company is to Motorsports.

The Super Special Stage held at Yelhanka, Bangalore at a radius of 3.8 Kms could notice only the banners reading Drive Mitsubishi. Keep Winning. True to the message so did the competitors.

The overall 1st & 2nd Place in the rally was bagged by Gaurav Gill & Moosa Sherrif of Team MRF on their Mitsubishi Cedia followed by Vikram Mathias & Nikhil Pai of team Red Rooster Racing on their Mitsubishi Cedia.

Back to News Room